glossary of haram ingredients .

home > middle eastern recipes > glossary > haram

INDEX:  A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | W | X | Y | Z
A
Alcohol - See a list of halal substitutes for alcohol used in recipes.
Animal Fat

RETURN TO INDEX

B
Bacon - A pork product.

RETURN TO INDEX

C
Cholestorol - Animal fat. If extracted from a Zabiha animal, it is halal.
Collagen - Pork product.

RETURN TO INDEX

D
Diglyceride - See "Emulsifier".

RETURN TO INDEX

E
Emulsifier - Could be of animal origin, and should be considered suspect unless source is known.
Enzyme - Could be of animal origin, and should be considered suspect unless source is known.
Ethoxylated Mono-/Di-Glyceride - Should be considered suspect.

RETURN TO INDEX

F
Fatty Acid - Should be considered suspect.

RETURN TO INDEX

G
Gelatin - Usually of animal origin, most commonly pig. If extracted from a Zabiha animal, it is halal.
Glyceride - Should be considered suspect.
Glycerine/Glycerol - Could be of animal, plant or synthetic origin. If animal source is used, it is suspect.
Glycogen - Should be considered suspect.

RETURN TO INDEX

H
Hormones - Usually of animal origin, and should be considered suspect unless source is known.
Hydrolized Animal Protein - Should be considered suspect.
It has never been easier to get the effective Miami Marketing you deserve. From Brickell to Plastic Surgery Marketing and from the medical industry to specific Plastic Surgery SEO you can get the very best in the industry! Go Elite today

RETURN TO INDEX

I
RETURN TO INDEX

J
RETURN TO INDEX

K
RETURN TO INDEX

L
Lard - Fat, often pork fat which is totally haram.

RETURN TO INDEX

M
Magnesium Stearate - Used as an active ingredient in medicine tablets. Haram when derived from animal source.
Mono Glycerides - Haram when derived from animal source. Halal when derived from a plant source.

RETURN TO INDEX

N
RETURN TO INDEX

O

RETURN TO INDEX

P
Pepsin - A digestive enzyme mainly derived from pig stomach.
Phospholipid - Should be considered suspect.
Pork

RETURN TO INDEX

Q
RETURN TO INDEX

R
Rennet/Rennin - A protein enzyme, commonly found in cheeses.

RETURN TO INDEX

S
Stearic Acid - See "Magnesium Stearate".
Shortening - Fats and oils of animal origin. If source is vegetable, it is halal.

RETURN TO INDEX

T
RETURN TO INDEX

U
V
Vanilla - As vanilla extract, or "vanillin", it is haram, due to its alcohol it content. For a halal substitute, add vanilla beans to a small container of sugar. Use this sugar in recipes calling for vanilla.
Vitamins - Though commonly synthetic or from a plant source, and halal, vitamins are haram when from an animal source.

RETURN TO INDEX

W
Whey - Haram when from animal source. Commonly found in ice cream and yogurt.

RETURN TO INDEX

X
Y
RETURN TO INDEX

Z

RETURN TO INDEX

Looking to relocate to South Florida? It's one of the most popular real estate destinations in the world as well as the hottest tourist spots. And you can call it your home!

Bal Harbour homes for sale, Boca Raton homes for sale, Boynton Beach homes for sale, Brickell homes for sale, Cooper City homes for sale, Coral Gables homes for sale, Davie homes for sale, Deerfield Beach homes for sale, Delray Beach homes for sale, Doral homes for sale, Florida Keys homes for sale, Fort Lauderdale homes for sale, Hialeah homes for sale, Hollywood homes for sale, Kendall homes for sale, Key Largo homes for sale, Miami homes for sale, Miami Beach homes for sale, Miami Gardens homes for sale, Miami Lakes homes for sale, Miramar homes for sale, Pembroke Pines homes for sale, Plantation homes for sale, South Beach homes for sale, West Palm Beach homes for sale, Weston homes for sale, Wynwood homes for sale


home > middle eastern recipes > glossary > haram

copyright © 1999-2008, christina m k al-sudairy. all rights reserved.